7. Acknowledgments

Many researchers in the glaciology and climate modeling communities have contributed to this work. Development of the CESM land-ice component is overseen by the Land Ice Working Group (LIWG), which is currently led by co-chairs Jan Lenaerts and William Lipscomb, scientific liaison Gunter Leguy, and software liaison William Sacks. Others in LIWG leadership roles since the group’s inception in 2009 have included co-chairs Jesse Johnson and Miren Vizcaíno and scientific liaisons Jeremy Fyke and Stephen Price.

Land ice was first implemented in CESM1.0 by William Lipscomb and several NCAR scientists and software engineers, including Tony Craig, Erik Kluzek, David Lawrence, Mariana Vertenstein, and Jon Wolfe. Jeremy Fyke and Miren Vizcaíno led the first analyses of output from the CESM1 land-ice component. William Sacks, who became LIWG software liaison in 2011, has been responsible for land-ice software development in CESM since the initial implementation.

Development of Glimmer-CISM was led by a steering committee consisting of Magnus Hagdorn, Tony Payne, and Ian Rutt in the U.K., along with Johnson, Lipscomb, and Price. Participants in the DOE Ice Sheet Initiative for Climate Extremes (ISICLES) project and the Predicting Ice Sheet and Climate Evolution at Extreme Scales (PISCEES) project then led development of the parallel, higher-order version CISM2.0, which was released in 2014. William Lipscomb, Stephen Price, and Matthew Hoffman were primarily responsible for CISM2, with key contributions from Katherine Evans, Joseph Kennedy, Mauro Perego, Douglas Ranken, Andrew Salinger, and Patrick Worley.

Development and testing of CISM2.1 (released in June 2018) was led by William Lipscomb, with additional contributions from Andrew Bennett, Sarah Bradley, Matthew Hoffman, Jeremy Fyke, Joseph Kennedy, Gunter Leguy, Stephen Price, William Sacks, and Lauren Vargo.

Major improvements in ice-sheet surface climate in CESM2 were led by Jan Lenaerts and Leo van Kampenhout, with assistance from Julio Bacmeister, Andrew Gettelman, David Lawrence, Andrew Slater, Sean Swenson, and others in NCAR’s Climate and Global Dynamics Laboratory. Development and testing of CISM-CESM two-way coupling has been led by Jeremy Fyke, William Lipscomb, Marcus Löfverström and William Sacks.

CISM2 development was supported primarily by the Earth System Modeling program, Office of Biological and Environmental Research (BER) of the DOE Office of Science. Additional support was provided by the DOE’s Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR), by BER’s Regional and Global Climate Modeling Program, and by the National Science Foundation. The National Center for Atmospheric Research is sponsored by the National Science Foundation.

Since 2017, primary support for CISM and other land-ice development at NCAR has been provided by the National Science Foundation under Cooperative Agreement #0856145.

Many DOE and NSF program managers, including Anjuli Bamzai, Lali Chatterjee, Lisa Clough, Jay Fein, Renu Joseph, Dorothy Koch, Randall Laviolette, and Julie Palais, have provided essential support for ice sheet model development and integration into CESM. William Collins, Gokhan Danabasoglu, Peter Gent, Marika Holland, James Hurrell, Jean-François Lamarque, William Large, and Bette Otto-Bliesner have supported land-ice modeling while managing CCSM and CESM development at NCAR.

Many others have actively participated in the Land Ice Working Group and have given advice and encouragement along the way.